Travel Tips | Zambales

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
The view behind our camp site. Isn’t it amazing?

Everything about my Zambales trip was something I never hoped for.

That’s what I like about traveling, you will never be sure about anything. Even if you planned everything to the dot, there are things that wouldn’t just go as planned.

Well, My trip didn’t meet certain things to begin with because I never plan anything. I’m a spontaneous kind of person. And being NOT sure about anything makes me excited to go even more.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

Our trip was not the ideal experience you’d like for your own personal travel. We were late, got rained on, some tents have holes on it, firewood got wet, my gadgets got wet too. And the list goes on. As sad as it seems, I actually had A LOT of learnings and memories to take with me. This trip would be the epitome of epic fails and misfortunes.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

If you don’t want to experience the same things as what I have experienced, here are a list of what to do or bring when travelling to Zambales:

1. Check your tent before bringing it!

Trust me, if you’re planning to bring a tent OR borrow from someone else, please do check it before actually using it. Check if the things needed to put up a tent are there (this includes the hooks). You’ll never know what weather you will face when you’re staying the night under the stars.

8
This is photo was not taken in Zambales. Used the same tent tho.

When me and some of my ‘couple friends’ (yes, third wheeling again) decided to go to Zambales, we first agreed to bring our own tents. However, when we contacted a boatman that would take us to different islands around Zambales (will be posting my itinerary soon), he mentioned that tents are already included in their package. So, my friends didn’t bring any and I too, was tempted to do the same, but decided to bring my own tent anyway.

I’m still thanking my lucky stars for enlightening me to bring my own tent. Coz turns out, the tents they borrowed was full of holes. And they found those holes in the worst way possible. The weather was bad. REALLY BAD. It rained all day and wind was gushing, that we even saw some tents flying out-of-place. Luckily, my friends found a way to stay dry for the rest of our trip, which is good.

Special shout out to ‘The North Face’ for producing high quality gears. That’s the brand of the tent I brought with me and it didn’t fail me.

(Note: I’ll be blogging about some of the things I normally bring with me and some key points as well.)

DCIM101GOPROG1689545.
Photo is not from my Zambales trip. I just want to show you the tent I bought and recommend.

2. Check the weather forecast

Following the no. 1 thing I wrote off this list, and is the reason why we got rained on in the first place, WE DIDN’T FREAKIN’ CHECKED THE WEATHER FORECAST.
We were blindsided about the fact that we were camping in an island when there is a storm coming to the Philippines on the same weekend. Ugggh, remembering it now makes me want to smack my ‘past me’ on the head for not checking the weather first before making any plans. Instead of us enjoying the full potential of Zambales, we were face-stricken with our situation.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

3. Have a checklist of your “Things to Bring”

I did a last-minute packing for our trip (I know, I know, what was I thinking). I forgot most of the things I needed, and left it at home. For your benefit, please make a written list (not just taking a mental note of things you need) to fully remember them. Most of the things I usually forget when traveling are those Basic necessities like toothbrush, toothpaste, ect. So, in order to avoid this situation, have a travel kit which contains your personal necessities.

 

4. Bring a waterproof casing

And following another epic result of my spontaneity, almost all of my stuffs got wet during the trip to Zambales. Yep, we weren’t even on the island yet and all my stuffs got wet from the boat ride.

For your personal safety, and your thing’s safety, please bring waterproof casing for your stuff. If you can’t afford one, there are other alternatives and very affordable ways to make your things dry. Placing it inside a trash bag is one. It is cheap and reusable. Besides, you’ll only need it for the boat ride to and from the islands.

5. Charge every gadgets you own

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
There are no source of electricity within the island. That means you can’t charge your gadgets while you’re on the island. So if I were you, charge them beforehand and bring power banks if needed. You’ll thank yourself for charging all your gadgets and not missing out a photo-op in Zambales.

6. Flashlight

Since there are no electricity, there are no light as well (duh, LOL). Bring a handy flashlight so you wouldn’t blindly walk around your campsite without any light to guide you.

7. Entertainment

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Sad that I’m leaving Zambales. =(

There is something magical about how time is relatively slow in the province than it is in the city. When you are used to the fast pace of the city life, being immersed in the rural areas for a day or two tends to be slower. A minute feels like more than minute and the problem with that is how to enjoy it. Bring some sort of entertainment for your ‘barkada’. A guitar, or playing cards are highly recommended especially when paired with a good drink like a cold beer *wink**wink*.

8. Cooking necessities

Although part of the packaged we booked for our Zambales trip includes kitchen tools like pans and whatnot, you should probably bring small kitchen tools that you think you may need. I think you should plan out first what you think you may want to eat on the island first and from there, decide what to bring that may help you cooked it.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

We didn’t bring any single kitchen tools because again, it was part of the package. What we didn’t know is that plates, knife, coal for grill and other small stuff weren’t included in the package. It was a real struggle trying to figure out what to do since our equipments weren’t complete. Plus the weather wasn’t cooperating with us and it tested our surviving skills. At the end, it went well. We improvised on the things we forgot and use the things that were already there to its full potential. Who would’ve known that junk food wrappers could be use as a makeshift fan for grilling and pot covers could be use as plates?

9. Don’t be shy and ask for help

shootout to our fellow campers who lend some help when we needed it the most. We lacked some equipments for cooking. And as a last resort, we asked for other campers to let us borrow or asked for their spare equipments. They gladly helped us and of course, we were humbled with their response. What I learned about our situation the most is that you need you need to have courage and not be shy to ask for help when you can’t do it all on your own anymore. Chances are, they’d understand and will help you.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

That’s what I learned about my trip to Zambales. If there are things you want to add-on my tips, feel free to post it down below. I’ll be posting my own itinerary and budget for this up on another post. So for now, adios! 😂

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

23 thoughts on “Travel Tips | Zambales

  1. Thrill seeking students?! Sounds familiar to me. HAHA! Although my definition for fun back then was a bit different: playing with old remote controls and have them act like a Jammer, or mix different household chemicals till it bursts into flames. #NERD

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Being spontaneous really have its pros and cons. Hahah! Good thing you have your tent with you! Boy scout man d.ay ni. Hehe! The “misfortunes” were okay I guess, given that you’ve learned something from it. 😊

    Like

  3. These travel points are really a big help for someone like me who is clumsy at all times. I have now an idea what will I do next time to avoid meeting adversities out my clumsiness. I like your Zambales travel experience, I’ve never been there. I’ll surely penned this on my bucket list.

    Like

  4. It still sounds like you’ve had so much fun!! I always look forward to planned trips but there are times when I just go without any concrete plan in mind which makes the trip even more exciting. Ziplocs are a traveler’s bestfriend haha. But trashbags are great too!

    Like

  5. Cool tips! It has been a while since I last went out of town with my friends. Your post just made me miss my friends and I might try to organize a similar but just nearby. It is always nice to prepare but sometimes the best memories about a trip is about the things we forget to bring or the details that we want to forget. hahaha

    Like

  6. I recently went to Zambales too, but haven’t had the time to blog about it yet. Same experience as you! Everything was unexpected because of the storm. 😦 But it was fun in a different sort of way. 🙂

    Like

  7. Wow. Impromptu jud ang pag prepare for the trip o. Good thing you decided to bring a tent! Otherwise, it really helps you throughout your trip if you prepare a list and extra money in case things go south. 🙂

    Makasuya jud ang mga tig travel ay. Hahaha

    Like

  8. Nindot naman kaayo ang photos bisag gi bagyo namo! Haha! I totally agree with everything in this post especially kanang mag make ug physical list jud! I’ve been doing that since I learned my lesson (the hard way!). Anyway, thanks for sharing your travel tips Rad! Enjoyed reading them! 🙂

    x, Kat of Nested Thoughts

    Like

  9. Nice pointers to take note of! But forgetting about things aside, spontaneous trips are the absolute best! Hahaha. Just the thrill that’s brought by the surprise and randomness of everything is enough to make up for the mishaps that might come with it. Or at least that’s usually the case. Hahaha

    Like

  10. Nice! Away from it all; the hustle and bustle of city life. Yes, waterproofing and charging all gadgets is key. Your trip reminded me when we had an overnight in Virgin Island sa Bohol. Our tent was not waterproof and there was a storm. Nag high tide, lumiliit ang isla, basang-basa sa ulan, may thunderstorm, juice colored. Kayamukat gyud pagmata the next day. Hahahahah! So lesson learned? Magdala nakog poncho or raincoat next time. Hahaha!

    Love,
    http://www.channelmarie.com

    Like

  11. Noted rady! 🙂 Haven’t tried using a tent because I wonder where am I going to do my bathroom routine whenever I need to. I tried camping in highschool but I went home whenever I want to use the comfort room. haha.

    Like

  12. Thanks for the Tips Rady! And yeah reading those tips from your Zambales Experience is something I should also, like always, consider before going on a trip!.

    Like

Leave a Reply

